St. James’ Episcopal Church was established in 1855 in Lake George, NY. Upon arriving at the meeting to discuss the name of the church, The Rev. Isaac Tuttle exclaimed that “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of Lights in whom there is no darkness or shifting shadow.” (James 1.17) His comment directed those present to name the church St. James’ in honor of James the brother of our Lord and James the apostle.
Today, St. James’ Episcopal Church welcomes all who come through our doors. Worship is on Sundays at 8:00 am and 10:00 am, and through the summer months on Wednesdays at 10:00 am when we offer a Celtic Healing Eucharist.
Mtr. Jean DeVaty presently cares for this flock. Her hope and prayer is that all who come to St. James’ will experience the love of God and the grace we know through His Son Jesus Christ. Please do come and join us if you ever find yourself in Lake George, NY.